What was going on in Pakistan in 2012?

Pakistan had a turbulent year in 2012, with the judicial ouster of Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani, attacks on civilians by militant groups, growing electricity shortages, rising food and fuel prices, and continuing political dominance of the military, which operates with almost complete impunity.

Who imposed 4th martial law in Pakistan?

On October 7, President Iskander Mirza declared martial law in Pakistan.

Who was 1st president of Pakistan?

The office was established when Pakistan was declared as a republic with the adoption of the 1956 constitution, and Iskander Mirza became the first president of the country. Until 1956, Pakistan was a dominion within the Commonwealth of Nations with Elizabeth II as the queen of Pakistan.

When did secession of Pakistan take place?

Pakistan faced a civil war and Indian military intervention in 1971 resulting in the secession of East Pakistan as the new country of Bangladesh. The country has also unresolved territorial disputes with India, resulting in four conflicts. Pakistan was closely tied to the United States in Cold War.

How many times has Martial law declared in Pakistan?

Military coups in Pakistan began in 1958. There have been numerous successful attempts since 1951. Since its creation in 1947, Pakistan has spent several decades under military rule (1958 – 1971, 1977 – 1988, 1999 – 2008).

How many times has martial law declared in Pakistan?

What is the national fruit of Pakistan?

List of national symbols

Title Symbol
National fruits Mango (summer) Guava (winter)
National vegetable Lady Finger
National animal Markhor
National aquatic marine mammal Indus river dolphin

Who led military rule in Pakistan?

In 1958, retired Major-General and President Iskander Mirza took over the country, deposed the government of Prime Minister Feroz Khan Noon, and declared martial law on October 7, 1958. President Mirza personally appointed his close associate General Ayub Khan as the Commander-in-Chief of Pakistan’s army.