What are the different types of play therapy?

Play therapy techniques

  • creative visualization.
  • storytelling.
  • role-playing.
  • toy phones.
  • puppets, stuffed animals, and masks.
  • dolls, action figures.
  • arts and crafts.
  • water and sand play.

What are the two types of play therapy?

Play therapy comes in two basic forms: non-directive (or child-centered) and directive.

What is play therapy Slideshare?

Play therapy is a method of meeting and responding to the mental health needs of children and is extensively acknowledged by experts as an effective and suitable intervention in dealing with children’s brain development.

What is Nondirective therapy?

Nondirective play therapy is a counseling method used to help children communicate their inner experiences through the use of toys and play. Nondirective play therapy, also called child-centered play therapy, is a nonpathologizing technique based on the belief that children have the internal drive to achieve wellness.

What is the main focus of play therapy?

In play therapy the emphasis is on the child and what is best for them. The therapy is child led, giving the child autonomy to take control back over their life and resolve whatever is causing distress to them, at their own pace, and through a medium which is comfortable, natural and familiar.

What is the goal of play therapy?

Through play therapy, children learn to communicate with others, express feelings, modify behavior, develop problem-solving skills, and learn a variety of ways of relating to others.

What are the principles of play therapy?

Introduction. Principles direct attention to important ethical responsibilities.

  • Fidelity. Honouring the trust placed in the practitioner.
  • Autonomy. Respect for the client’s right to be self-governing.
  • Beneficence. A commitment to promoting the client’s well being.
  • Supervision and CPD.
  • Non-maleficence.
  • Justice.
  • Self-respect.
  • What are the stages of play therapy?

    Stages of Play Therapy

    • The first phase of play therapy is commonly referred to as the initiation phase or exploratory stage.
    • The next stage is referred to as the resistance phase, aggressive stage, or negative reaction stage.
    • The next stage is the growing phase or work phase.
    • Lastly is the termination phase.

    What are the six types of play?

    How Kids Learn to Play: 6 Stages of Play Development

    • Unoccupied Play (Birth-3 Months)
    • Solitary Play (Birth-2 Years)
    • Spectator/Onlooker Behavior (2 Years)
    • Parallel Play (2+ Years)
    • Associate Play (3-4 Years)
    • Cooperative Play (4+ Years)