What are the 7 stages of vascular dementia?

What Are the Seven Stages of Dementia?

  • Stage 1 (No cognitive decline)
  • Stage 2 (Very mild cognitive decline)
  • Stage 3 (Mild cognitive decline)
  • Stage 4 (Moderate cognitive decline)
  • Stage 5 (Moderately severe cognitive decline)
  • Stage 6 (Severe cognitive decline):
  • Stage 7 (Very severe cognitive decline):

What is the average life expectancy of someone with vascular dementia?

On average, people with vascular dementia live for around five years after symptoms begin, less than the average for Alzheimer’s disease. Because vascular dementia shares many of the same risk factors as heart attack and stroke, in many cases, the person’s death will be caused by a stroke or heart attack.

What stage of dementia is delusions?

Delusions (firmly held beliefs in things that are not real) may occur in middle- to late-stage Alzheimer’s. Confusion and memory loss — such as the inability to remember certain people or objects — can contribute to these untrue beliefs.

What are the stages of deterioration of dementia?

Alzheimer’s disease typically progresses slowly in three general stages: early, middle and late (sometimes referred to as mild, moderate and severe in a medical context). Since Alzheimer’s affects people in different ways, each person may experience symptoms — or progress through the stages — differently.

What are the stages of dementia on the Reisberg scale?

Dementia Stages in the Reisberg Scale Stage 1 – No Cognitive Decline: During stage 1 there is no noticeable cognitive impairment. Stage 2 – Very Mild Cognitive Decline: A very mild decline will begin to be noticeable. A person in stage 2 may have slight problems with memory that may be attributed to aging.

What to expect from the three stages of dementia?

3 Stages of Dementia: What to Expect as the Disease Progresses 1 Early – mild dementia. 2 Middle – moderate dementia. 3 Late-stage dementia.

What’s the difference between early dementia and middle dementia?

In the below scale, elders in stages 1-3 do not typically exhibit enough symptoms for a dementia diagnosis. By the time a diagnosis has been made, a dementia patient is typically in stage 4 or beyond. Stage 4 is considered “early dementia,” stages 5 and 6 are considered “middle dementia”, and stage 7 is considered “late dementia”.

What happens in the late stages of Alzheimer’s disease?

Some people may have outbursts of aggressive physical behavior. In the late stage of the disease, called severe dementia due to Alzheimer’s disease, mental function continues to decline, and the disease has a growing impact on movement and physical capabilities.