Which teams played in IPL 2008?


  • Bangalore Royal Challengers Squad (April 15, 2008)
  • Chennai Super Kings Squad (May 8, 2008)
  • Deccan Chargers Squad (March 28, 2008)
  • Delhi Daredevils Squad (May 8, 2008)
  • Kings XI Punjab Squad (May 1, 2008)
  • Kolkata Knight Riders Squad (May 13, 2008)
  • Mumbai Indians Squad (May 20, 2008)

How many teams were in IPL 2008?

8 teams
The season commenced on 18 April 2008 with the final match held on 1 June 2008 and The competition started with a double round robin group stage, in which each of the 8 teams played a home match and an away match against every other team.

Who is the most expensive player in IPL 2008?

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni was the costliest player at US$1.5 million. Andrew Symonds was the most costly foreign player.

How many teams are there in IPL in 2007?

eight teams
The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league, contested by eight teams based out of eight different Indian cities. The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007.

Who won 2008 IPL final?

Rajasthan Royals
2008 Indian Premier League Final/Champion

Who started IPL?

Board of Control for Cricket in India
Lalit Modi
Indian Premier League/Founders

Who won most IPL titles?

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians is the most successful team in league history of IPL, having won five titles.

Who hit winning runs in IPL 2008?

The Super Kings scored 163 runs in 20 overs with a loss of 5 wickets. Batting at number three, Suresh Raina top scored for the Super Kings with 43 runs…

Where can I find squads for IPL 2008?

On cricwaves you can get Groups, All Teams & squads of IPL – 2008, Tournament with Players profile and Player Stats. IPL 2021: Orange cap »Purple cap »Most 6’s »Most 4’s »Most 50’s »Catches »

What was the salary cap for IPL in 2008?

For the inaugural IPL season, each team had a salary cap of US$5 million (Rs. 20 crore approx.). Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh and Virender Sehwag were classified as icon players.

Who are the winners of Indian Premier League in 2008?

Sohail Tanvir won the purple cap for being the top wicket-taking bowler while Shaun Marsh won the orange cap for leading run-scorer in the tournament. Shreevats Goswami was awarded the best under-19 player award and the special award for Fair Play was won by the Chennai Super Kings . The auctions for team ownership was held on January 24, 2008.

Who was the IPL pick of the crop in 2008?

Cricinfo IPL XI. On 5 June 2008, Cricinfo announced what it referred to as the ‘pick of the IPL crop’ in its ‘short-form all-star XI’ for the IPL. The team of the tournament consisted of: Shaun Marsh – Kings XI Punjab; Sanath Jayasuriya – Mumbai Indians; Gautam Gambhir – Delhi Daredevils; MS Dhoni (Captain & Wicketkeeper) – Chennai Super Kings