Which counties are considered Metro Atlanta?

The official tourism website of the State of Georgia features a “Metro Atlanta” tourism region that includes only nine counties: Fulton, DeKalb, Gwinnett, Cobb, Clayton, Coweta, Douglas, Fayette, and Henry.

What is considered the Metro Atlanta area?

Metro Atlanta is also known for its warm hospitality, temperate climate and vast tree canopy – it’s a region in a forest. The Atlanta region includes Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry and Rockdale counties, and the city of Atlanta.

How many counties make up Atlanta GA?

The City of Atlanta is governed by a mayor and a 15-member city council that is managed by the council president. The 29 counties that make up metro Atlanta are individually governed by boards of commissioners, city councils and mayors.

What county is Atlanta in in Georgia?

Fulton County
Fulton County is home to 15 cities, including Georgia’s Capital City, Atlanta.

What cities are included in the Atlanta metro area?

Principal cities

  • 1 Atlanta. 2 Decatur.
  • 3 Alpharetta.
  • 4 Sandy Springs.
  • 5 Marietta.
  • 6 Roswell.
  • 7 Kennesaw.

What are the counties in the Atlanta metropolitan area?

The Atlanta metropolitan area was first defined in 1950 as Fulton, DeKalb, Gwinnett, Cobb and Clayton counties. Walton, Newton, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Henry, Cherokee, Rockdale, and Butts, counties were added after the 1970 census, with Barrow and Coweta counties joining in 1980 and Bartow, Carroll, Paulding,…

How many people live in Metro Atlanta GA?

Metro Atlanta is the ninth largest and one of the fastest-growing metro areas in the nation. Home to 6 million people in 2019, metro Atlanta experienced the fourth-largest population increase of all MSAs in the nation—an increase of approximately 734,000 people from 2010 to 2019.

Which is the largest metropolitan area in Georgia?

Show map of Metro Atlanta. Atlanta. Metro Atlanta, designated by the United States Office of Management and Budget as the Atlanta–Sandy Springs–Roswell, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area, is the most populous metro area in the US state of Georgia and the ninth-largest metropolitan statistical area (MSA) in the United States.

Which is the core of the Atlanta metropolitan area?

However, some entities define a much smaller metropolitan area by including only the counties which have the densest suburban development. Fulton, DeKalb, Gwinnett, Cobb, and Clayton were the five original counties when the Atlanta metropolitan area was first defined in 1950, and continue to be the core of the metro area.