What three 3 types of road signs will you see when driving in NZ?

The signs on our roads can be divided into three types:

  • compulsory signs.
  • warning signs.
  • information signs.

What are some warning signs on the road?

Here are 10 of the most common warning signs you are likely to see on the road:

  1. Slippery When Wet.
  2. Traffic Signal Ahead.
  3. Stop Ahead.
  4. Left (or Right) Turn Ahead.
  5. Sharp Curve to the Right (or Left)
  6. Merging Traffic.
  7. Advisory Speed on Exit Ramp.
  8. No Passing Zone.

Who makes NZ road signs?

the NZ Transport Agency
Road signs in New Zealand are controlled by the NZ Transport Agency and are prescribed in the Land Transport Rule: Traffic Control Devices 2004 and set out in the Traffic Control Devices (TCD) Manual.

What does the white and black road sign mean?

The national speed limit sign is depicted by a white circle with a black diagonal strip across the centre. These are most commonly found on the motorway, dual carriageways and country roads. If you are on a single carriageway/road and see the national speed limit sign, you are restricted to 60mph.

What does R mean on roads?

Routes starting with the letter R are provincial or regional roads; meaning it’s either the provincial government or the municipality that is responsible for the road and the maintenance of it.

What are the 8 colors of road signs?

What are the meanings of the eight colors used for traffic signs: Red, Yellow, White, Orange, Black, Green, Blue, Brown? Red -> Stop, Yield, or Prohibited. Yellow -> Warning. White -> Regulatory.

What is the color of warning signs?

Warning safety signs (Yellow) They can indicate a general hazard/danger and are sometimes known as hazard/caution signs. These health and safety signs need to be yellow/amber and are usually characterised by a black symbol on a yellow background.

What are general warning signs?

General warning signs are used in instances in which the particular hazard, obstacle or condition is not covered by a standard sign.