What is the difference between ordinary and honours degree?

A degree with honours, or an honours degree, is a standard three-year degree worth 360 credits, including a dissertation or special project in the final year of study. This is opposed to an ordinary BA or BSc, which is comprised of 300 credits and omits the dissertation or special project.

Is a first class Honours degree good?

Finally, a First-Class degree. A First-Class degree, commonly known as a ‘first’ or 1st, is the highest honours degree achievable, and is well respected by employers. Students must get a percentage above 70% to be awarded this degree, thus it is very challenging indeed.

What is ordinary honours degree?

Ordinary degree – generally a degree passed without honours. Some universities offer ordinary degree courses in their own right. Ordinary degrees can also be awarded to those students who do complete an honours degree course, but without achieving the conditions required to gain ‘honours’.

What does first class Honours do?

First Class Honours. Awarded to students in a Degree with Honours or an Honours Degree who have achieved results between 85-100% (or minimum WGPA 6.00). Awarded to students in a Degree with Honours or an Honours Degree who have achieved results in the range below 65% and above 50% (or WGPA 4.00 to 4.99)

How hard is it to get a first class Honours degree?

It is more difficult to get a first class degree in law than it is in any other subject, including medicine. In 2015/16, just under 14% of law students graduated with first class degrees. Many law firms specify training contract candidates must have a minimum of a 2:1 degree.

What percentage get 1st class Honours?

UK degree classifications are as follows: First-Class Honours (First or 1st) (70% and above)

Do I need an honours degree to do a masters?

No, these days an Honours degree is no longer a specific requirement for most graduate programs. But, even if it is not technically required, an Honours program does still offer by far the best preparation for graduate study, and can be a great advantage for those applying to graduate schools.

What are the grades for a first class honours degree?

1 A First-Class Honours (a ‘1st’) = Grade A** 2 An Upper Second-Class Honours (a ‘2:1’, pronounced two-one) = Grade A* 3 A Lower Second-Class Honours (a ‘2:2’, pronounced two-two) = Grade A 4 A Third-Class Honours (a 3rd) = Grade B 5 An Ordinary Degree (or Pass) = Grade C

What’s the difference between upper and lower class honours?

Upper Second-Class Honours (60-70%): there are two levels of second class degree. An upper second class, known as a 2:1 or two-one, is the higher of the two levels Lower Second-Class Honours (50-60%): a 2.2 or two-two is the lower level of the second class degree

What’s the difference between ordinary degree and honours degree?

An ordinary degree is awarded when one passes the degree exam completing all the expected work though does not have an excellent performance. Ordinary degree is awarded to undergraduates who have obtained below 40% of the total marks but above fail marks. They do not have a class. This is better than being failed.

Which is the highest honours degree in the UK?

There is also a degree called First Class Honours with Distinction, which is the highest honours that can be achieved. Nationally (in UK), about 10% of students qualify for this achievement while majority of students pass through with Second Class Honours.