What are the CME requirements for physicians in New York?

The New York State Office of the Professions does not require CME for physicians. However, physicians are required to attend a mandated training related to infection control every four years.

How many CME credits do doctors need?

Physicians must complete an average of 25 hours of continuing medical education (CME) during each year of the previous licensing period. Licenses are renewed biennially, so physicians must have earned 50 credit hours during the concluding licensing period in order to qualify for renewal.

How many CME do you need?

State CME Licensure Requirements

State Required CME Per Year(s)
California DO* 150 3 yrs
Connecticut 50 2yrs
Delaware 40 2 yrs

Who needs CME?

If your job requires any type of license or certification, most likely you must complete CME each year in order to renew your license or certification. Nurses, doctors, and allied health professionals are all required to complete CME credits yearly. As a result, CME is an ongoing requirement throughout a career.

Does taking a board exam count as CME?

Upon achievement of your ABIM Board Certification in internal medicine or a subspecialty, you will be eligible to claim AMA PRA Category 1 CME Credits™ directly from the AMA. Note: The AMA will charge a fee for this service.

Do medical fellows need CME?

In the 2019-2021 CME cycle, certified residents and fellows are not exempt from their CME requirements, however, they will earn 20 credits of CME for each year of postdoctoral training completed. What is my CME requirement for state licensure? CME requirements for state licensure differ between states.

Do CME credits expire?

Please note that CME credits are only valid for 2 years from the date they were accrued.

How much CME do I need for emergency medicine?

The Medical Board of California requires 50 CME hours every two years.

How do I get a category 2 CME?

Physicians may claim AMA PRA Category 2 Credit for such learning activities as: teaching residents, medical students or other health professionals; unstructured online searching and learning (i.e., not Internet PoC); reading authoritative medical literature; or participating in live activities not designated for AMA …

How do I get CME certified?

CME provider requirements

  1. Be accredited by either the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) or a recognized state medical society (SMS).
  2. Meet all requirements of both the AMA and their accreditor (ACCME or SMS).