What are the 11 Classification of algae?

There are 11 types of algae such as Chlorophyceae (Green algae), Phaeophyceae (Brown Algae), Rhodophyceae (Red Algae), Xanthophyceae (Yellow-Green Algae), Chrysophyceae (Golden Algae), Bacillariophyceae (Diatoms), Cryptophyceae, Dinophyceae, Chloromonadineae, Euglenineae, and Cyanophyceae or Myxophyceae (Blue-green …

What are the 3 divisions of marine algae classification?

Macroalgae are classified into three major groups: brown algae (Phaeophyceae), green algae (Chlorophyta), and red algae (Rhodophyta). As all of the groups contain chlorophyll granules, their characteristic colors are derived from other pigments. Many of the brown algae are referred to simply as kelp.

What is the feature of Group 2 in algal classification by Lee?

Group 2. Glaucophyta: algae that represent an intermediate position in the evolution of chloroplast; photosynthesis is carried out by modified endosymbiotic blue-green algae. 2. Division. Rhodophyta (red algae): Chlorophyll a and d; phycobiliproteins; no flagellated cells; storage product is floridean starch.

What are the three examples of algae?

Examples of Algae

  • Ulothrix.
  • Fucus.
  • Porphyra.
  • Spirogyra.

What are the 3 main classes of algae give examples for each?

Complete step by step answer:There are three key Algae classes Chlorophyceae, Phaeophyceae, and Rhodophyceae….

Algae class Phaeophyceae (Brown algae)
Photosynthetic pigments They have composed of pigments chlorophyll a, c, β- carotene, xanthophyll
Food stored within them Mannitol, Laminarin
Example Laminaria, sargassum

What are the six classes of algae?

Table of Contents

  • Class # 1. Chlorophyceae (Green Algae):
  • Class # 2. Xanthophyceae (Yellow Green Algae):
  • Class # 3. Chrysophyceae (Golden Algae):
  • Class # 4. Bacillariophyceae (Diatoms):
  • Class # 5. Cryptophyceae:
  • Class # 6. Dinophyceae:
  • Class # 7. Chloromonadineae:
  • Class # 8. Euglenineae:

What are 5 characteristics of algae?

Characteristics of Algae

  • Algae are photosynthetic organisms.
  • Algae can be either unicellular or multicellular organisms.
  • Algae lack a well-defined body, so, structures like roots, stems or leaves are absent.
  • Algaes are found where there is adequate moisture.
  • Reproduction in algae occurs in both asexual and sexual forms.

Which algae is used as fodder?

Marine macroscopic algae popularly known as seaweeds are being used as a. source,of food, feed, fodder, fertilizer and source of various fine chemicals like agar, carrageenan and alginates.

What are the two example of algae?

Multicellular examples of algae include the giant kelp and brown algae. Unicellular examples include diatoms, Euglenophyta and Dinoflagellates. Most algae require a moist or watery environment; hence, they are ubiquitous near or inside water bodies.

What are the 9 major groups of algae?

A generally agreed classification of algae recognizes nine broad taxonomic groups, called Divisions. These are Chlorophycophyta, Xanthophycophyta, Bacillariophycophyta, Phaeophycophyta, Rhodophycophyta, Chrysophycophyta, Euglenophycophyta, Cryptophycophyta and Pyrrophycophyta.

Who was the first person to classify algae?

F. E. Fritsch (1935, 48) was the first who proposed a most comprehensive and authorative classification of algae in his book. “The Structure and Reproduction of the Algae” based on the following characteristics: i. Pigmentation.

Why are algae classified as a heteromorphic group?

The Classification of Algae: Comparing Three Schools of Thought. Algae refers to a heteromorphic group of organisms which are capable of doing photosynthesis as they contain chlorophyll as their primary pigment and lack a sterile covering around their reproductive cells. The members are grouped together as they share some common characteristics.

Which is the best classification of golden algae?

Class Chrysophyceae (golden algae) Many unicellular or colonial flagellates; also capsoid, coccoid, amoeboid, filamentous, parenchymatous, or plasmodial; many produce silica cysts (statospores); predominantly freshwater; approximately 1,200 species; includes Chrysamoeba, Chrysocapsa, Lagynion, and Ochromonas.