Can you be pulled over for window tint in Massachusetts?
A tint ticket in Massachusetts can be quite expensive; if you get pulled over and ticketed for having your windows tinted too dark, you can potentially receive a fine of up to $250. It may depend on how much darker your windows are compared to the legal limit.
Will my car pass inspection with tinted windows in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts requires that 35 percent of all visible light be able to pass through the back, front, and rear side windows. Massachusetts allows window tint films that are up to and not exceeding 35 percent. This law pertains to all vehicle windows, include the front, rear, and side windows.
What is the most you can legally tint your windows?
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield. Front Side windows: Aftermarket film must allow more than 88% of light in, or minimum 70% VLT if combined with factory-tinted windows. Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used. Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.
What is the fine for window tint in Massachusetts?
For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law. Penalties: Up to $250 fine. Third or subsequent convictions will result in 90 day drivers license suspension.
Can you tint your back windshield?
What tint can you get away with in California? For the rear window and the back side windows, you can use whatever tint darkness you prefer. However, for the front driver and passenger window, the tint percentage allowed is 70% if combined with factory tinted windows.
What does 20 percent tint mean?
The percentage you see on window tint refers to the VLT, or visible light transmission. If your tint has a 20% percent VLT, it blocks 80% of the outside light. Don’t make the mistake of buying tint with a high VLT percentage thinking it will be darker.
What are the mass. laws on window tinting?
Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Massachusetts window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well. Front Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective. Back Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective.
Is a 20 percent tint legal?
20 Percent TINT Is Legal. For side windows or rear windshield, glass tinting that reduces light transmission to less than 32% or increases light reflectance to more than 20% is not permitted. For SUVs, vans and trucks, the limit is 32% for the driver’s window and the front passenger window only.
What is a legal window tint?
30% Tint is a light tint and is generally acceptable. The legal amount of tinting of any car window is measured by its light transmittance (LT), the amount of light that can pass through the tinted windows. However the back windows can often be tinted darker than the front or even blacked out.
What is the percentage of window tint?
The tint looks darker inside due to the light that is not escaping. Standard tint levels are 35 percent and 25 percent. Cars usually get 25 percent for the sides and 5 percent for the rear windows. Several states have a maximum level of tint, especially for the driver’s side window, but have no requirement for the back side and rear windows.